Discrimination/Hiring Practices/EEOC

Every week in Rhode Island thousands of people are ushered through the court system, and every year nearly 20,000 will be released from prison. There are 30,000 people currently on probation, as we have one of the highest rates of government supervision in the nation. Over 100,000 Rhode Islanders have some manner of conviction on their records. The effects of those convictions can vary greatly.A culture of criminal background checks has cast a cloud of discrimination upon many people and their families. Employers know the the fact that we live within one community- and we need to look carefully at policies that can go awry of their original intent regarding the safety of all.

My name Is Jose Rodriguez and I have a B.C.I Record who has been evaluated very differently. Everyone makes mistakes and mistakes makes the people. My pass is terrible a lot have argued I deserve to continue to be punish, However my existence In the community has allow me to speak up on issues which have or is presently affecting many of us has giving me the courage to speak up and never give up.Evidence of this behavior and the employers hiring practices are decimating communities Is overwhelming to me and the community.

This nation has been on a dangerous slope for decades, and if we do not reverse course we will have a caste society that forces many of us to create a different economy, a different school system, and a different community. This is not what I and many of us want, and I ‘ am confident It Is not what the people of Rhode Island want.

Please read below letter forwarded to the Roger Williams University.

To whom it may concern,

Mirlen A. Mal, ( Assistant Vice President for Human Resources)
Donald F. Farish , ( President )

I’ am in receipt of your letter dated November 3, 2014. Based on your decsion not to extend an offer of employment. I would like the opportunity to appeal your decision ,There is no reason why you and the University would not extend an offer of employment , I was very candid about my B.C.I. Record.If I ‘am correct you mentioned in your previous email dated October 28, 2014 The University takes exception to discrimination. Please be advise that although I disclosed on the First Interview Supplemental Application form a criminal history, neither that disclosure , nor the verified existence of my criminal record, operate, by themselves, to disqualify me from University Employment.

University policy does not require an applicant to have a history free from criminal conviction in order to be deemed suitable for employment.
I truly believe you and the president should reconsider me for Employment with the University. If your decision remains the same my concerns will be address further.

Thank you for your time and consideration for Employment in the near future with the University.

Regards,

Jose Rodriguez

Leave a comment